February 2012

Spring training schedule

Pitchers and catchers report to Jupiter for the opening of spring camp one week from tomorrow. The minor league camp gets into the act about two weeks later, with the first games starting on March 15th.

Here is the Zephyrs’ spring training schedule, featuring six games each against the Memphis Redbirds and Buffalo Bisons (home games in CAPS):

Thu, Mar 15: MEMPHIS (Jupiter)
Fri, Mar 16: Memphis (Jupiter)
Sun, Mar 18: BUFFALO (Jupiter)
Mon, Mar 19: MEMPHIS (Jupiter)
Tue, Mar 20: Buffalo (St. Lucie)
Thu, Mar 22: BUFFALO (Jupiter)
Fri, Mar 23: MEMPHIS (Jupiter)
Sun, Mar 25: Buffalo (St. Lucie)
Tue, Mar 27: Memphis (Jupiter)
Wed, Mar 28: Buffalo (St. Lucie)
Thu, Mar 29: MEMPHIS (Jupiter)
Sat, Mar 31: BUFFALO (Jupiter)

Rosters expand for 2012

The National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues announced this week that the active roster limit for Triple-A and Double-A teams will be raised to 25 players for the 2012 season, matching the roster limits of their Major League and Class A counterparts.

The roster limit at Triple-A and Double-A had been set at 24 players, not counting players on the disabled list or on Major League rehabilitation assignments. Those players will still not count against the roster limit under the new rule.

With the frequent roster moves that happen over the course of the season, this will give new Zephyrs manager Ron Hassey slightly more flexibility when dealing with Major League call-ups that often leave the Z’s a player short for a game or two at a time.

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.